Took me long enough, right? I’ve only had this domain set up for weeks. I’ve had a post sitting in draft mode on my old blog for… longer than that.

Wow. I said it. “Old blog.”

It’s officially the end of one era (which, let’s be honest, was a very sporadically-updated era, at best) and the beginning of a new one.

I’m trying something new. I’m challenging myself to blog (at LEAST) once per week. And go upward from there.

Starting with this post.

It’s taken me a while to write this post, primarily because I wasn’t sure what I wanted from this blog. Ten years ago (holy shit, I’m able to write that without rounding up and I want something liquor-related now), I could blog like nobody’s business. I wrote everything and anything that came to mind. I had absolutely no filter.

I like to say I haven’t changed much, but in truth… I have. I’ve learned what opinions I have and don’t have, and whether or not it’s important that I voice them. When I voice them, though…

I still have no filter. But it’s situationally appropriate… usually. (I make no claims about random shouts of “fuckwaffle”, apropos of nothing. Those can happen.)

I craft things. Mostly because we’re poor and I’ve got a skill for doing things with my hands. Sometimes I do pretty things. I try to sell them because electric bills suck.

I write things… still? Again? I took a long break. I didn’t start writing again until I stumbled across (brace yourselves, everyone, we’re entering a Name Drop) Zac Levi’s Nerd Machine.  I got to volunteer two years in a row, and it was the best experience of my life. I’d been struggling with anxiety and being a hermit and allowing my life to just roll on by… And then I got drawn into interacting with people again. People who seemed to have the same wacky sense of humor I did and didn’t mind hearing me babble about my insane bursts of creativity. By the end of Nerd HQ 2012, I was racing home to plant my ass in front of a computer and start a project I hadn’t attempted in almost 20 years:  I was going to write a novel.

Cut to two years later, and I have three half-finished novels, two of which are each intended to be the beginning of their own series. Because I have mental masochism or something.

I’ve always been a creative person. I’ve always loved to write. When I was a kid, I wanted to act and sing. I still do, but I figure I’ll tackle one personal renovation at a time. (Or five. Five sounds doable.)

So that’s what this blog is for. I’m going to be creative here. I will randomly muse things, post snippets of my writings, announce when I craft something new for the store (which will be its own page here, as soon as I find time to putter around with the design layout thingie), and generally geek the hell out.

You’re welcome to join me.

I will probably say fuckwaffle a lot.

Thank you for understanding.

One thought on “

  1. Haha. Fuckwaffle. Porbably not best to randomly blurt that out in public. Ill still stick with skittlefarts and boogersnatches as my random scream in the middle of a busy Wal-Mart which only has two registers open. However, I do look forward to reading more. Get on it chick! Those stories bouncing around in the old dome will certainly not write themselves. Oh yea….that is what Dragon is for. Hehehhe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

